How to get motivated in 4 minutes.

How to get motivated in 4 minutes.

We all feel a slump sometimes. Maybe we don't feel like doing something that we have to do. It can get tough. I don't feel motivated to do x or to do y. But what is motivation? How do we get that feeling to do something? Is it a result of a process or is it just something that happens? Poof i'm inspired to work now. Well it's not really so hard to start feeling it when you know how it works.

Motivation

Motivation is the "desire or willingness to do something." Sounds simple. The hard part is how can I get that drive or desire to do what I want to do.

The journey is tough. Grinding, you're working three jobs, you got kids. Everyone is dealing with their own problems. But how can I find this motivation to continue the grind.

#grinddontstop

Anyways, I read Motivation Myth by Jeff Haden. If you haven't read it or its your first time hearing about it, I highly recommend reading it or even listening to it. The biggest takeaway of how to get motivated is from your successes.

Think about that for one second. I can get motivated from my successes? What does that mean? Think of a time you did something successful. Example: I studied for a test and got an A on it. Or what about a super small win. I talked to someone and made a friend today.

So will you find the motivation in knowing that if you study, you might get a good grade? Maybe. Studying can be dreadful, but it's producing results. So the next time a test comes around you will get to studying instead of hesitating and 'not feeling it'. If you are a relative shy person and you decide ok talking wasn't so bad and I can make a friend, thats a win. You'll feel more motivated to talk to someone.

Let's reverse this now. Ok i'm super shy and I approach someone as a challenge to be more social. It goes horrible, terrible, completed rejected. Well sh*t. Wouldn't you say you'll never do that again. You certainly won't be motivated to try again.

Successes lead to motivation. cristofer-maximilian-NSKP7Gwa_I0-unsplash.jpg

Count small wins

Yes. If you're not convinced it does, read the book or watch a video on it. I may have given really bad examples on how success affects motivation but oh well.

Small wins such as trying to get better 1% everyday is important in staying motivated.

Everyday or every time I do something I try to be 1% better than I was last time. Whether it be in learning something new everyday like a new word or even hitting another rep in the gym.

Another example, I just started going to the gym. I'm currently curling 30 pound dumbbells 8 times in a set. Next time I try curls can I do an extra rep? If you can do another rep don't you feel a bit stronger? A bit of oh shoot I didn't expect myself to do it. Maybe next week I'll do an extra rep or try 35 pounds for reps. You're motivated to come back. It's these small wins accumulated overtime make you more motivated.

Jeff Haden states that "motivation is a result of process, not a cause." When you see results in the gym you want to keep going. If you're getting good grades after grinding hours studying you'll feel good studying. If you're getting awesome feedback on a project you did, you feel motivated.

It works the same as well in reverse. So have an open mind on how results can affect your motivation.

So how can I get motivated?

Track your wins. Any win is a win. I lifted more weight this week than last. I'm 1 pound lighter than last week. Now let's make it 2 pounds for next week. Fix that mindset, I got rejected when I talked to someone. Well at least I had the confidence to do so. (ps. don't be a creep)

Appreciate the progress you made. Look back when you started and look where you're at now. You knew more than you did then, so what you're doing is great. Keep it up.

Well I hope this article is useful. Thank you for your time. Be proud of your wins.